Why most loyal clients are those whose views I challenged - Jamie Covello - Avison Young

!mpact
2 min readSep 13, 2021

--

Jamie Covello

At times, market indicators are in conflict with corporate objectives or treasury initiatives. It’s the story of the ‘elephant inconveniently in the room’. It’s my duty to shine a light on that big hairy animal, regardless of the discomfort it causes. Jamie Covello — Avison Young video by CoolBrands People

(auto-generated transcript)
Actually it’s the clients whose views I have challenged for the most loyal during those times when my instincts have led me to disagree there was always an economic or market trend which I was noticing at times market indicators are in conflict with corporate objectives or treasury initiatives it’s the story of the elephant inconveniently in the room it’s my duty to shine a light on that big hairy animal regardless of the discomfort it causes.

There are a few maybe more than a few but the most impactful for me was about two years into my tenure exclusive relationship with general reinsurance I was asked to sell what was then called the Greenwich Capitol building in Greenwich Connecticut I reported to a very funny but tough Irishman who taught me so much about the construction and management side of corporate real estate and about the nature of people in general I still miss him he was so angry with me for disagreeing with him because I wanted to wait 18 to 24 months due to poor market conditions which I believed would be trending up he shouted for God’s sake Jamie you’ll be earning a big Commission we instead renewed the Greenwich capital’s lease and when the building was sold years later Germany insurance benefited from terrific appreciation you.

--

--

!mpact

!mpact Magazine is a platform where people with a vision can share their ideas and insights.