The Social Determinants of Health - Corwin N. Harper

!mpact
2 min readJan 17, 2023

With over 35 years of experience in healthcare systems from fiduciary and governance to economic development, I always strive to be an empathetic and trustworthy leader by implementing humanity through healthcare. As the Chief Executive Officer at Northshore and Mississippi Gulf Coast Region of Ochsner Health, my goal is to provide healthcare to all with a strong focus on social and educational equity to improve humanity.

Recently, I had the opportunity to speak on a Beckers Hospital Review Podcast where I discussed the social determinants of health, how it can affect us all, and how I plan to do my part for the community.

“I am one human being, living in one human race, working in creating a much more humane world.

“The non-medical and non-genetic issues make about 70–80 percent of the issue of healthcare while medical and genetic issues make up 20–30 percent of the issue in healthcare.

“We have so much opportunity to help the communities with the 70–80 percent around the social terms of health.

“In this next phase of my career, I am more focused on how we get more focused on the social determinants of health and how we create systems in collaboration with the payers and providers to help people meet their personal needs and healthcare needs.

“At the end of the day, the human being needs to have a chance to be taken of and we need to figure out a way to help them to make a difference in people.”

Connect with Corwin on LinkedIn.

--

--

!mpact

!mpact Magazine is a platform where people with a vision can share their ideas and insights.